We are delighted to announce Alasdair Paisley, Mariska Silkowski & Sophie Bennie-Twist as the new Members of Scottish Youth Parliament elect for Argyll & Bute. They will embark on a period of training and development and will fully embrace their new positions from February 24.

Entirely youth led and diverse, the Scottish Youth Parliament provides a national platform for young people to discuss the issues that are important to them, and campaign to effect the change they wish to see; developing young people to be the leaders of tomorrow through training and international opportunities, encouraging young people in decision making, supporting youth action and developing essential life skills for leadership.

It is a true model of youth participation and a key aspect of democracy in Scotland.

Our thanks also go to the hard work of our community learning staff in facilitating the recruitment process across the authority and who will provide ongoing support to our three MSYPs over the next two years as they serve their election term.